BedGear Mattresses Review: An In-Depth Analysis


Bedgear mattresses review found that most owners are happy with their purchase, the BBB only has two complaints filed in 2020 for mattress protector and pillows, a BBB rating of A-, and the company is seven years old. Consumer Reports rates the M3 at 73 although there are no reviews to see owners’ opinions.

Key Points

  • BedGear is based in Farmingdale, New York, and is popular among customers for its innovative sleep products
  • BedGear.com posts customer reviews, which indicates to me they have confidence in their products and ability to meet or exceed customer expectations. I have been finding that some companies that do not post customer reviews on their website also perform poorly in my reviews.
  • I have only found a few negative reviews on the Internet, which is impressive.
  • A unique design to enhance cooling while sleeping and surprisingly customers seem to think it works (many companies claim space-age cooling designs thy are often more marketing gimmicks than effective).
  • They use high-quality materials in the production
  • A wide array of options to choose from including four firmness options for each side (left and right) of the mattress. A few companies do this, but four firmness options are impressive.
  • 365 nights Guarantee

Quick Recap

BedGear is Best Suited for:

Their products work best for people in search of luxury comfort and proprietary mattress technology to offer rejuvenating snooze time.

About the Company

In 2013, BedGear started its journey in New York when they first crafted a performance bed sheet out of lacrosse shirts. Now, the designing and manufacture of a variety of BedGear products occur in the US and China. Currently, 4,000 locations, including the nation’s top 100, sell these superb mattresses!

BedGear believes sleeping means refueling for another amazing day. To fuel up, you need contemporary mattresses that promise a good night’s sleep.

” it feels like you are floating on air. No pressure points or pinching pain anymore. We can finally get a good night sleep. It took us years to find this amazing mattress.”

Rita, Roseville, CA, BedGear M3 customer, BedGear.com

The company ensures its values and visions are more than mere words. That’s why the Company has donated hundreds of its products to the counties that faced devastating effects of the North Carolina wildfires and to the Houston Furniture Bank. They also helped in the recovery of victims who got stuck in Hurricane Harvey.

Even now, BedGear is donating pillows to hospital staff members and distributing KN95 masks in response to the COVID-19.

If you want one of their products and live in the US, you can enjoy free shipping. Or, you can avail white glove services that help you properly set everything up.

ImageTitlePricePrimeBuy
Product ImageBEDGEAR S5 LS Mattress - Medium Firm (Queen)PrimeEligibleBuy Now
Product ImageBEDGEAR S3 Sport Mattress - Firm (King)PrimeEligibleBuy Now
Product ImageBEDGEAR S7 LSX Mattress - Plush (Queen)PrimeEligibleBuy Now

Prices pulled from the Amazon Product Advertising API on:

Their mattresses come with a 10-year warranty and a 365-night guarantee.

Their hassle-free policies seem legitimate as I have not found many complaints about returns, and where there are complaints they address it. 

Most customers, including Alissa Coffman and Devin Harris, love the mattress, claiming it a good investment that elevated their sleeping experience. Thanks to their Airflow certification, all of BedGear’s products are super comfortable and allow for excellent airflow. 

It is difficult to see, but I am giving a thumbs up.

Types of Products

Mattresses

The supreme quality performance mattresses include patented technology. These come with temperature-regulation features that ensure you feel cool throughout the night.

In addition, it contours with your body. This calls for comfy night sleeps!

Bedsheets

BedGear offers a wide array of premium quality bed sheets. Each and every one of them is super soft, breathable, and encourages your body to regulate at an ideal temperature. 

Moreover, you can choose between signature sheet sets and natural blend sheet sets!

Pillows

Your pillow can greatly affect your quality of sleep. That’s why BedGear offers what is claimed as refreshing cool touch pillows and moisture-wicking pillows that help regulate your temperature. 

They have a huge selection with a wide price range and people sure seem to like them (see here) so I will do a more in-depth review of them soon.

Plus, the pillows come in four different heights, making it easy for you to find the perfect match.

BedGear.com shows that there are four 1-Star reviews on their website, but I can only find two. The system may be adding the two company responses to these two reviews. It that is the case the 4.5 overall score is actually higher.

However, this was not the case for the single 2-Star review as it is tabulated as a single 2-Star review. Interesting. I will contact the company for clarification.

Scott Boyd, BedFramesPlus.com

Blankets

Say goodbye to uncomfortable, heavy blankets that you throw off in the middle of the night. Then, say hello to BedGear’s super comfortable blankets.

These blankets are warm, lightweight, and boast temperature regulating features. Plus, they come in three different materials, so get one that suits you best!

Kids Bedding (Crib Mattresses, Sheets and Pillows)

To be energetic throughout the day, your little ones need to get a good night’s sleep. And that’s impossible if the sheets are too soft or the pillows too rough.

BedGear offers a plethora of pillow options to find the perfect match for your kid.  On the other hand, the crib mattresses and sheets offer a cool surface! This ensures proper spine alignment and comfy.

Accessories (travel pillow, face mask, pet beds, and T-shirts)

Wouldn’t you love it if you could carry your favorite pillow with you? Or maybe you want to purchase breathable, soft t-shirts. 

Lucky for you, BedGear offers performance masks and t-shirts. You can also get soft travel pillows here as well.  Plus, their performance material embeds in their pet beds as well. 

“I got this mattress because Bedgear support specifically said it was not like memory foam. This mattress might not be memory foam, but it feels exactly like it. I got the softest springs and it was still wayyyy too stiff.”

Matthew, Northern Virginia, M3 customer, BedGear.com

BedGear Performance Mattresses

M3

Construction 

The M3 features four layers: the top cover, the comfort layer, the independent suspension, and the chassis.

A Reddit user considering purchasing an M3 asked if anyone owns one and if it sleeps cooler. In response a customer replied:

“I recently purchased an M3 (within the last month). I was able to sleep several nights on my friend’s M1X with a Ver-Tex cover and it DOES make a difference for me, even with a mattress protector and sheets. That was a big factor in my M3 decision.”

egzwygart, Reddit User, 1 year ago, Reddit.com

The M3 is available in four different firmness levels. The 0.0 firmness allows for durable support and relieves your pressure points. The second, 1.0 firmness, blends cushion comfort and support. Moreover, 2.0 firmness brings you enhanced comfort and a cushion design. The last 3.0 soft option delivers plush comfort and adapts to your curve.

“I have! we’ve loved it so far… had it for a couple of months now. By far the best mattress we have purchased… We tried the sleeping duck which is popular here in Australia (one of those online ordering ones) and hated it! But this one has been great.”

cjonessydney13, Redit user, 6 months ago, Reddit.com

Materials

The top cover of this mattress has Ver-Tex fabric construction that feels cool to lay on. Moving onto the comfort layer, it has a soft foam construction that easily conforms to your body shape.

The independent suspension acts like a supporting layer made out of recyclable material. The chassis is made out of Air-X ventilation panels. 

Redditto0 is another user that posted the question: “Any thoughts on the bedgear mattress vs Tempurpedic ProAdapt firm?” and a mattress salesperson answered:

“Hey hope I can help I’m a salesman based out of Richmond, Va and we carry both brands. I strongly recommend the tempurpedic they are THE top of the line and their comfort and support are legendary…Bedgear makes great pillows and protectors but that’s about where I stop selling that brand.” 

The_Mr_Kit, 1 year ago, Reddit.com

Features 

The M3’s chassis is 100% breathable, allowing air to circulate around your body through the night. In addition, the zip-off cool-touch cover dissipates sweat. 

Furthermore, the weightless support and Boost feature contours to any weight placed on it. Plus, it comes with a micro-curl that reduces motion transfer. 

Pros & Cons

  • Its soft top layer contours to your body shape
  • The cool top layer helps hot sleepers maintain sleeping temperature 
  • The futuristic independent suspension allows you to personalize your side, which is pretty cool if it works (please let me know if you have one and what you tink about it.
  • The chassis is made out of breathable material that promises sustainability
  • The different firmness levels adapt to different types of sleepers
  • It is expensive!

“If you are willing to bite the bullet on returning the temperpedic, then I say go for the comfort and coolness. If the comfort layer does degrade, the great thing is you can replace it”

PhatTuna, 1 Year ago, Source

S|3 Feels Mattress

Construction 

The S3 features three layers. 

First comes the quilted top layer backed by the memory foam placed underneath. The last is a high-density foam that provides firmness and durability. 

Only three ratings for the S mattress with two 5-Star and one 1-Star reviews. Source

Materials

The S3 is 10-inches thick. This is divided into 1.5-inches of ventilated React+support layer and 8.5-inches of ventilated React material core. 

Furthermore, the S3 has an attractive aqua blue piping around the mattress.

Features 

The S3 layer comes with quarter-inch diameter holes throughout the mattress. These are supposed to provide continuous airflow throughout the night, for enhancing the quality of your sleep. 

The S3 features BedGear signature instant-cooling cover and breathable mesh sides panels that are supposed to help reduce sweat. 

Pros & Cons

  • The quarter-inch diameter holes drilled in the mattress combined with its instant-cooling cover may provide a cool night sleep
  • The S3 seems to be somewhat firm.
  • It may be too firm for those who prefer a softer feel
  • It falls into the expensive category

M2 Mattress

Construction 

M2’s first layer is a firm, breathable 1-inch foam. This layer is attached to the second layer, which is memory foam. To further ensure this, it has an extra 2-inch breathable layer. The last layer is the high-density, durable (claimed) foam layer that firmly holds the rest of the layers together.  

23 reviews with an average of 4.5 rating with no rating lower than three stars. Source

Materials

The first, uppermost layer of the M2, is produced from the Dri-Tec fabric top. This layer is attached to the second layer, which is memory foam. 

Features 

The top layer is a soft, smooth fabric that minimizes moisture, making it a good option for hot sleepers. The soft upper two layers combined with an extra soft layer and the firm bottom layer makes it a pretty dense and firm.

Besides this, the mattress features a moisture-wicking and airflow fabric. This means you can count on a great night’s sleep! 

Pros & Cons

  • Pretty soft and light, all the while being firm
  • Comes with a moisture-wicking surface, which is perfect for hot sleepers
  • It comes at a super reasonable price
  • Despite being sufficiently firm, it doesn’t absorb weight well. It can very easily go from being soft to hard 

M1 Mattress

Construction 

This M1 contains three layers; memory foam, latex, and foam. 

The top-notch quality memory foam offers superb motion isolation, pressure relief, and conforming ability. The eco-friendly latex is both responsive, as well as allergen resistant. Lastly, the bottom foam layer is firm enough to hold the shape of your mattress.

71 reviews with an average 4.4-Star rating and only three 1-Star ratings. Source

Materials

The M1 boasts a soft, moisture-wicking surface that allows you to enjoy sleep regardless of the weather. 

Moreover, the M1 has Layers of react and Boost-X breathable foams that offer a firm surface for you to sleep on, all the while staying soft. Plus, the mattress comes with Bedgear’s signature temperature-regulating technology.  

“I still like the M3 best. With two trips to the store, I still rate it the most comfortable. Also, I like the adaptability of it. I like that we can choose 2 different firmness levels in the same bed. I like that new parts can be interchanged.”

jrk669, 1 year ago, Source

Features 

The three comfort layers of the M1 offer a one-of-a-kind balance between firmness and softness. 

The top layer and the latex blend are 1.5-inches, whereas the high-density support base is about 7-inches. This provides you with all the great features like spinal support, sustainability, elevating feel, air-flow, and so on. 

Furthermore, the M1 features state-of-the-art temperature-regulating technology that alleviates your sleeping experience. 

Pros & Cons

  • This is good for people who sleep on their back or stomach
  • Its memory foam matched with its padding provides a great balance between softness and hardness 
  • It offers great spinal support
  • The air-flow and temperature-regulating technology makes for a great night’s sleep
  • If you’re looking for a budget-friendly mattress, then the M1 is a great option 
  • It feels pretty dense and can be a little too firm for some people 
  •  Not as comfy as other competitor mattresses 
  • If you’re a side sleeper, the M1 mattress may not be the right one for you.  

Buying Experience

BedGear’s exceptional services don’t stop with their productions; it exceeds their buying policies as well! With their customer-friendly services, they strive to ensure customer satisfaction.

Shipment, Delivery & Return Policies

BedGear offers to deliver mattresses right at your doorstep with the help of UPS ground shipment services. As of now, BedGear offers free shipping in 48 contiguous states of America. If you order out of the US, you may have to pay a shipping fee. 

If you want your mattress delivered safely to your house and properly set-up, you can apply for the Free White-Glove Delivery. 

When it comes to delivery time, your shipment may take anywhere between 3-5 business days if you live on the East Coast. However, if you live on the West Coast, it may take 7-10 business days. If you want to track your order, you can check it by logging into your account and clicking on ‘my account.’

If, for any reason, you want to return it, you can do so in 30 days. However,  you’ll have to keep it for the 21-nights trial. 

If your mattress is unopened, you may return or exchange it within 100 days. The same goes for unopened pet beds, and pillows. But adjustable bases are non-refundable.  

Warranty and Trial Period Specifications

BedGear’s 365 night-guarantee ensures all defects in the construction of the products are covered. Their performance mattresses, launchpads, and kids mattresses come with a ten-year warranty.  Plus, you can get an extended warranty as well.

Moreover, BedGears mattresses come with a 30-days trial period.

Customer Feedback

Although the brand is relatively old, there has been limited customer reviews on sites such as Reddit. Commonly, customers have been really with their choice even after months of purchase.

The bed is extremely comfortable for most sleeper types and has a slow breakdown, which means the bed will have a longer lifespan. Moreover, it’s exceptionally cool and dry, making it suitable for hot sleepers. You can either choose a VER-TEX (which is slightly expensive) or use a VER-TEX bed sheet. 

In general, the staff is also happy to be associated with the brand and has enjoyed a healthy work environment. Its multicultural and diverse workforce promotes inclusiveness while giving everybody the chance to grow and prosper. However, some have complained of disorganization in the managerial team. 

BedGear BBB Complaints and Ratings

The BBB rating is A- and there appear to be 18 complaints filed with the BBB in the past three years with seven of them during the past twelve months and the time I reviewed BBB.org on November 5, 2020. All complaints are Answered or Resolved by BedGear.

TIP: This is November 2020 and there are only two complaints filed in 2020. So it appears that they are doing better at meeting customers’ expectations. And the complaints were about the mattress protector and pillows, not their mattresses.

Complaints include:

“The product is faulty and the warranty is a joke. I’ve had the mattress protector for 13 months. I’ve had a minor amount of liquid leak through before, but today I contacted them regarding a large apple juice spill that leaked completely through the protector. They told me my claim status was denied based on the fact that it was not the first occurrence.”

BedGear Customer, 10/18/2020, BBB.org

Actually I am not going to review further as it does not seem that there is a lot of value in me spending half a day analyising this information since there are only two recent complaints, not about mattresses or bed frames.

Feek free to check it out yourself here.

BedGear Consumer Reports

Consumer Reports rates the M3 at 73 which is middle of the pack and not as high as one would hope for this price point.

M1 is only rated at 69 anbd there are no reviews for each and I don’t have any faith in Consumer Reports ratings.

They rated three BedGear mattresses and each one only recieved a 5 star rating, and all three are for Durability.

Well, they give most of the mattress that I have researched a 5 for durability. How can mattesses rated from 66 up to 80+ all seemingly have the same durability rating?

And how do they test for durability? Is someone sleeping on it for months or years?

Scott Boyd

A semi-retired workaholic in Thailand is a challenge. It is too hot to keep building adobe and earthbag buildings so a new project was needed. I became interested in bed frames after purchasing a bamboo bed frame from a local supplier here and I learned there is little information about them on the Internet. So now I spend my days researching, testing, and reporting my findings to help others while having an occasional beer and istening to 60s and 70s B side rock, blues, and much more.

Recent Posts